Phillips Wins Thriller at Lee County Speedway For Second Win of Year



In a heavyweight slugfest Friday night at Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa, Terry Phillips threw the haymaker just shy of the checkers en route to his second Corn Belt Clash Series victory of the season. Phillips hung around the top five for the duration of the main event and gradually worked forward. Early in the race he went toe to toe with Chad Simpson. Then when a lapped car slowed race leader Ryan Gustin's pace, Phillips jumped all over the young driver and slid in front of him exiting turn two. He had the momentum and kept Gustin at bay to roll on to victory in a fantastic feature event.

"They done a heck of a job here," stated Phillips in Victory Lane. "This is a race track here now. You can race all over it. Hats off to them. Thanks to all the fans for coming out. I haven't seen this many fans in a long time. That's quite a race there."

Early in the evening the drivers all took two laps on the clock to align the heat races. The top three heat race finishers then redrew for feature starting positions. Friday's winner, John Anderson, redrew the number one and set the pace. Andy Eckrich drew the outside pole for the 40 lap feature.

Anderson quickly assumed the lead and was holding his own, until Gustin came to life, inches from the wall. Once he carved out his line, the #19r began picking off front of the pack cars with ease. Anderson was committed to the bottom, but abruptly changed his line once Gustin rolled both the third and fourth place cars in one turn.

Anderson held on a little longer, but Gustin passed him several laps later in turns one and two. Ultimately Gustin held off all but Phillips to run a strong second. Chad Simpson still searching for his first CBC win of the season, scored his ninth top five finish in the series first 12 races. Those runs have him out front in the championship standings.

Friday's race was the first ever appearance by the Corn Belt Clash Series at County Speedway. The series returns to action is just under two weeks at it will make it first ever appearance at Park Jefferson Speedway on Thursday June 26 for a $3,000 to win event before heading to I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Nebraska the next night for the Annual Alphabet Soup event at the Kosiski-owned track on Friday the 27th. The Corn Belt will close out its three-race western swing on Saturday the 28th with a stop at Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa for a $5,000 to win show.

A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 2. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 3. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 4. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 5. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 6. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 7. Jason Utter (Columbus Junction, IA), 8. Matt Furman (Columbus, OH), 9. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, IL), 10. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 11. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 12. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 13. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 14. Justin Reed (Camp Point, IL), 15. Brian Harris (Davenport, IA), 16. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 17. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 18. Tommy Elston (Keokuk, IA), 19. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA), 20. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 21. Jay Johnson (Burlington, IA), 22. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 23. Andy Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 24. Robert Cullen (Chilton, WI), 25. Ricky Frankel (Quincy, IL), 26. Skip Frey (Swisher, IA)

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Ricky Frankel (Quincy, IL), 2. Brian Harris (Davenport, IA), 3. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 4. Tommy Elston (Keokuk, IA), 5. Jay Johnson (Burlington, IA), 6. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA), 7. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 8. Robert Cullen (Chilton, WI), 9. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 10. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 11. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL), 12. Jamie Wilson (Quincy, IL), 13. Jay Chenoweth (Wapello, IA), 14. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 15. Todd Frank (Seymour, WI)

Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 2. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 3. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 4. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 5. Ricky Frankel (Quincy, IL), 6. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 7. Robert Cullen (Chilton, WI), 8. Denny Woodworth (Mendon, IL)

Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Jason Utter (Columbus Junction, IA), 2. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 3. Matt Furman (Columbus, OH), 4. Skip Frey (Swisher, IA), 5. Tommy Elston (Keokuk, IA), 6. Jay Chenoweth (Wapello, IA), 7. Jamie Wilson (Quincy, IL), 8. Todd Frank (Seymour, WI)

Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 3. Mark Burgtorf (Quincy, IL), 4. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 5. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 6. Jay Johnson (Burlington, IA), 7. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 8. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE)

Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. Andy Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 4. Justin Reed (Camp Point, IL), 5. Brian Harris (Davenport, IA), 6. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 7. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA)