Anderson Captures First Win of Year





Thursday night, the Corn Belt Clash returned to action for its first ever appearance at the Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa, Iowa. John Anderson stood tallest among the 28 competitors to score his first win of the season and first for new car owner Bill Koons and BK Motorsports. The team rolled out a new car for evening, and it seemed to fit Anderson like a glove.


"Seems like it's been forever," said Anderson. "It (the car) really performed well. We were fast tonight right off the truck. I got to drive Bill's car at the Show Me (100) because I hurt an engine there. I knew right then that car had a pretty good feel to it, so he went and got the same type. It feels really good. I've been doubting myself, and wanting to even do it and different things like that. Hopefully we'll be up there some more this year."


Initially the race was halted by a lap one melee involving at least 10 cars. Some continued, while damage forced others out. Once the lineup was situated, Anderson rolled from the outside pole and led every lap. Lapped traffic made it interesting at times, as second finishing Chris Simpson pulled to Anderson's bumper on a couple of occasions. Matt Furman and Chad Simpson swapped third and fourth during the course of the race too.


Once the race was restarted from the outset, the feature ran caution free.


The new track tour continues Friday, for the Corn Belt Clash as it invades the Lee County Speedway in Donnellson, Iowa. The 'Gambler's Challenge' put up by promoter Mike VanGenDren will continue at Lee County as those drivers that bought in have the chance to win and extra $2,000 on top of the posted $3,000 if they capture tonight's A-Main.


A Feature (30 Laps): 1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 3. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 4. Matt Furman (Columbus, OH), 5. Jason Utter (Columbus Junction, IA), 6. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 7. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 8. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 9. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 10. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 11. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 12. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 13. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 14. Skip Frey (Swisher, IA), 15. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 16. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA), 17. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 18. Robert Cullen (Chilton, WI), 19. Todd Frank (Seymour, WI), 20. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 21. Andy Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 22. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 23. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 24. Ray Guss Jr. (Milan, IL), 25. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO)


B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 2. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 3. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 4. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 5. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 6. Todd Frank (Seymour, WI), 7. Robert Cullen (Chilton, WI), 8. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 9. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 10. Wayne Bray (Annawan, IL), 11. Mike Fryer (Freeport, IL), 12. Jason O'Brien (Atlantic, IA)


Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 2. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 3. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 4. Jason Utter (Columbus Junction, IA), 5. Ray Guss Jr. (Milan, IL), 6. Skip Frey (Swisher, IA), 7. J.C. Wyman (Griswold, IA), 8. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 9. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 10. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO)


Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Andy Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 2. Matt Furman (Columbus, OH), 3. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 4. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 5. Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, IA), 6. Mike Fryer (Freeport, IL), 7. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 8. Todd Frank (Seymour, WI), 9. Wayne Bray (Annawan, IL)


Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 3. Scott Lewis (Henderson, CO), 4. Spencer Diercks (Davenport, IA), 5. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 6. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 7. Jason O'Brien (Atlantic, IA), 8. Robert Cullen (Chilton, WI), 9. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO)

Recap courtesy of the MLRA Series...


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: Pro Power Racing Engines, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams, Out-Pace Racing Products, Karsyn’s Krusaders, Dominator Race Products and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants

Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products, JRi Shocks, Wehrs Machine, VP Racing Fuels Heartland R.A.C.E. and Two Buff Dudes Ink.

Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: Intercomp Racing Scales, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Grove Automotive, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Dirt Late Model Magazine and Quarter Master

Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.