Reaper Slays Competition at I-80






Ryan Gustin showed the Late Model world that his domination in the Modified ranks is well deserved after the Marshalltown, Iowa native captured his first career Corn Belt Clash Series win at I-80 Speedway tonight in Greenwood, Nebraska.


Starting from the pole position, Gustin gave early chase to fellow Modified veteran and outside pole sitter Tommy Weeder, Jr. for the first 15 or so laps as the front cars entered heavy traffic and with 15 or so laps in the books, Gustin shot to the lead past Weeder and began to show is dominance.


Gustin looked to have things locked up as he had put over a straightaway on second place in heavy lapped traffic till the race’s only yellow flag fell with three laps to go bunching the field for one final dash for cash. Gustin’s #19r Victory Circle mount shot out on the single file restart to take home the $3,700 pay day, his first win with the CBC series and also gathered himself a provisional starting position for July’s $27,000-to-win Silver Dollar Nationals at I-80. Following Gustin to the checkers was Weeder, Chris Simpson, Tony Jackson, Jr. and Chad Simpson.


The Corn Belt Clash Series makes the short trek down the road tomorrow to the Adams County Speedway in Corning, Iowa for a $5,000-to-win event on Saturday.



Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Dylan Smith

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Ryan Gustin

JE Pistons Heat Race #3 Winner: Robbie Anderson

Cen Pe Co Lubricants Heat Race #4 Winner: Travis Dickies

Dominator Race Products Heat #5 Winner: Kyle Berck

VP Racing Fuels Heartland B-Main #1 Winner: Terry Phillips B-Main #2 Winner: Justin Zeitner



1.     Ryan Gustin

2.     Tommy Weeder, Jr.

3.     Chris Simpson

4.     Tony Jackson, Jr.

5.     Chad Simpson

6.     Travis Dickies

7.     Terry Phillips

8.     Kyle Berck

9.     John Anderson

10.  Denny Eckrich

11.  Will Vaught

12.  Mark Dotson

13.  Jesse Stovall

14.  Chase Junghans

15.  Jason O’Brien

16.  Dave Eckrich

17.  Jusin Zeitner

18.  Brad Looney

19.  Robbie Anderson

20.  Justin Alspin

21.  Justin Gregg

22.  Kevin Sather

23.  Doug Herrick

24.  Andrew Kosiski

25.  Dustin Walker

26.  Brunson Benning

27.  Leroy Johnson

28.  Josh Most

29.  Jake Meier

30.  Bill Leighton Rookie of the Race Award: Doug Herrick

AllStar Performance Hard Charger: Jesse Stovall

Hooker Custom Harness Award:  Denny Eckrich

Wehrs Machine Award: Chad Simpson

JRi Shocks Award: Brunson Behning

VP Racing Fuels Heartland Tough Luck Award: Justin Mitchell


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, Pro Power Racing Engines, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams, Out-Pace Racing Products, Karsyn’s Krusaders, Dominator Race Products and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products, JRi Shocks, Wehrs Machine, Eastern Iowa Spray Foam and Water Proofing, VP Racing Fuels Heartland R.A.C.E. and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Mason Racin, Grove Automotive, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Dirt Late Model Magazine, Bully Dog and Quarter Master


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to We are also on Facebook and Twitter!