Chris Simpson Takes Season Opener at I-80





After a spirited battle with Kyle Berck and Terry Phillips for most of the event, Chris Simpson pulled away from the pack over a series of late cautions to capture the victory in the 2013 Corn Belt Clash season opener at I-80 Speedway. Simpson took home the $2,000 pay day and was followed to the line by Terry Phillips and three-time CBC Champion Chad Simpson who came from the 12th starting position. Night two of the CBC season takes place tomorrow night at I-80 as the drivers battle for $3,000.

Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Justin Alspin

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Travis Dickies

Pro Power Racing Engines Heat Race #3 Winner: Jesse Stovall

Cen Pe Co Lubricants Heat Race #4 Winner: Dave Eckrich

AllStar Performance Heat Race #5 Winner: Chris Simpson

QuickCar Racing Products Quick Six Winner: Kyle Berck

VP Racing Fuels Heartland B-Main #1 Winner: Tommy Weder Jr. B-Main #2 Winner: John Anderson


1. Chris Simpson

2. Terry Phillips

3. Chad Simpson

4. Kyle Berck

5. Will Vaught

6. John Anderson

7. Travis Dickies

8. Jason Bodenhammer

9. Chase Junghans

10. Dave Eckrich

11. Brad Looney

12. Tony Jackson Jr

13. Tyson Turnbull

14. Justin Alspin

15. Matt Furman

16. Tommy Weder Jr

17. Al Humphrey

18. Justin Mitchell

19. Bill Leighton

20. Tad Pospisil

21. Mark Dotson

22. Dustin Walker

23. Jesse Stovall

24. Corey Zeitner

25. Justin Zeitner

26. Andrew Kosiski Rookie of the Race Award: Brunson Behning

AllStar Performance Hard Charger: John Anderson

Hooker Custom Harness Award: Chris Simpson

Landrum Performance Springs Award: Dave Eckrich

JRi Shocks Award: Chad Simpson

VP Racing Fuels Heartland Tough Luck Award: Jake Meier

Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, Pro Power Racing Engines, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams, Out-Pace Racing Products, Karsyn’s Krusaders and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants

Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products, JRi Shocks, Wehrs Machine, Eastern Iowa Spray Foam and Water Proofing, VP Racing Fuels Heartland R.A.C.E. and Two Buff Dudes Inc.

Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Mason Racin, Grove Automotive, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Dirt Late Model Magazine, Bully Dog and Quarter Master

Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to We are also on Facebook!