Chris Simpson Dominates at Darlington






The Corn Belt Clash Series made its debut on Saturday at the Lafayette County Speedway in Darlington, Wisconsin and when the final checkered flag was flown, it  was Chris Simpson in Victory Lane after the driver of the Five Star Shop Services #32 put on a dominating performance to capture the $3,000 pay day.


After the initial start was waved off, it was Kindl LLC Quick Six Winner Chad Simpson who sprinted out to an early lead over pole-sitter Chris Simpson. An early caution for a flat left rear of Tim Isenberg re-set the field with Chad in front with Chris Simpson and Bone Larson rounding out the top-three. On the restart, Chris quickly set to work on the outside of the leader, working the middle of the track as Chad’s #25 Liebe Trucking entry ran the low line. The brotherly battled continued for several laps, with the two running side-by-side for several laps.


Chris Simpson took the lead as the field neared the midway point of the event as he took a four length lead over Chad as the two Simpsons began to distance themselves from the field. It was Hoosier Racing Tires B-Main winner Jason Rauen who begin making series noise as he utilized the top-line of the track, working his way forward from his 17th starting position.


As the leaders entered heavy lapped traffic, Chris’s Longhorn Chassis was able to slowly extend his lead over Chad as he continued to work the middle and low lines. With a handful of laps remaining, the Farley, Iowa driver known as ‘Hammer Down’ broke into the top-five and quickly passed the #31 machine of Jason Utter to take the third position as the flying green came out. Chris Simpson cruised to an easy victory over Chad Simpson and a hard-charging Jason Rauen to capture his second Corn Belt Clash Series victory of the season. Jason Utter and  Bone Larson rounded out the top-five with Jake Meier, Dennis Erb, Pete Parker, Dave Eckrich and Russ Scheffler rounding out the top-10.


The Corn Belt Clash Series invades the historic Cedar Lake Speedway this Thursday for a $5,000-to-win show as the opening night of the 25th Annual USA Nationals. Brian Birkhofer is the defending race winner and the event can be seen on internet pay-per-view on, along with the entire rest of the Crown Jewel event weekend.


Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Chris Simpson

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Justin Kay

JE Pistons Heat Race #3 Winner: Jake Meier Business Solutions Quick Six Winner: Chad Simpson

Hoosier Racing Tires B-Main Winner: Jason Rauen


Feature Finish:

1.      Chris Simpson

2.      Chad Simpson

3.      Jason Rauen

4.      Jason Utter

5.      Bone Larson

6.      Jake Meier

7.      Dennis Erb

8.      Pete Parker

9.      Dave Eckrich

10.  Russ Scheffler

11.  Justin Kay

12.  Rick Scheffler

13.  Tim Isenberg

14.  Jerry Lierly

15.  Charlie McKenna

16.  Mike Fryar

17.  Tim Buhler

18.  Bill Rezutek

19.  Rick Wendling

20.  Jon Rogers

21.  Rob Moss

22.  Jermiah Hurst

23.  Jim Rychtik

24.  Brock Sauer


Hooker Custom Harness Hard Charger Award:  Jason Rauen

AllStar Performance Performer of the Race Award: Jason Rauen

QuickCar Racing Products Award: Rob Moss

Landrum Performance Springs Award:

JE Pistons Awards: Chris Simpson

Comp Cams Award: Dennis Erb

Quarter Master Award: Tim Isenberg

CV Products Award: Chris Simpson

Hoosier WRS D-55 Tire Draw Winner: Charlie McKenna


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, R.A.C.E, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Business Solutions, Pro Power Racing Engines, Grove Automotive, OutPace Racing Products, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Countryside Creations, Dirt Late Model Magazine, JD Photography, Bully Dog and Karsyn’s Krusaders


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.

For more info on the Corn Belt Clash Series, go to We are also on Facebook!