Simpson Storms Back Into CBC Victory Lane






It has been a long dry-spell for the two-time and defending Corn Belt Clash Series Champion, but that all changed last night CJ Speedway in Columbus Junction, Iowa, as Mt. Vernon’s Chad Simpson roared back into the winner’s circle with a dominating performance.


After capturing the win his heat, and holding off his hard charging brother in the Kindl LLC Business Solutions Quick Six, Chad Simpson let the other competitors know that the ‘Deuce Nickel’ team was a force to reckoned with tonight. On the start of the event, it was brother Chris who got the drop on the #25 machine and scooted out to an early lead. The #32 was able to stretch his lead to three car lengths until mechanical failure hit the Longhorn Chassis driver forcing him to retire from the event. On the impending restart, Chad set sail from his new found leader spot as he pulled away from Tim Isenberg and Pete Parker.


A series of cautions followed, but Simpson was able to maintain the lead with Isenberg and Parker swapping the runner-up position back and forth several times and the cars behind them for position. Simpson was able to stretch his lead out over the final laps to take the win over Tim Isenberg, Pete Parker, Kurt Kile and Dennis Erb, Jr. The remainder of the top-10 was made up of Justin Mitchell, Mark Burgtorf, Denny Eckrich, Rick Wendling and Rob Moss. Iowa veteran Wendling, who also happened to be the birthday boy, was the Hooker Harness Hard Charger of the event after he advanced 12 positions during the race.


The Corn Belt Clash makes its next stop tonight at the Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa for the ‘Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants 40’  for night two of its three-race swing for its annual appearance as part of the Fayette County Fair. Tomorrow night the series storms in the the Lafayette County Speedway in Darlington, Wisconsin for its inaugural appearance at the Wisconsin track for the ‘Budweiser 50’.


Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Chad Simpson

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Tim Isenberg

JE Pistons Heat Race #3 Winner: Pete Parker Business Solutions Quick Six Winner: Chad Simpson


Feature Finish:

1.      Chad Simpson

2.      Tim Isenberg

3.      Pete Parker

4.      Kurt Kile

5.      Dennis Erb Jr.

6.      Justin Mitchell

7.      Mark Burgtorf

8.      Denny Eckrich

9.      Rick Wendling

10.  Rob Moss

11.  Jerry Lierly

12.  Jon Rogers

13.  Jake Meier

14.  Jim Rychtik

15.  Tom Goble

16.  Justin Kay

17.  Spenser Diercks

18.  Mike Fryer

19.  Dave Eckrich

20.  Colby Springsteen

21.  Matt Furman

22.  John Vandenberg

23.  Aaron Ricketts

24.  Andy Eckrich

25.  Jason Utter

26.  Chris Simpson

27.  Jay Chanowath


Hooker Custom Harness Hard Charger Award:  Rick Wendling

AllStar Performance Performer of the Race Award: Chad Simpson

QuickCar Racing Products Award: Chris Simpson

Landrum Performance Springs Award: Mark Burgtorf

JE Pistons Awards: Chad Simpson

Comp Cams Award: Chris Simpson

Quarter Master Award: Dave Eckrich

CV Products Award: Tim Isenberg

Hoosier WRS D-55 Tire Draw Winner: Rob Moss


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, R.A.C.E, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Business Solutions, Pro Power Racing Engines, Grove Automotive, OutPace Racing Products, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Countryside Creations, Dirt Late Model Magazine, JD Photography, Bully Dog and Karsyn’s Krusaders


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.