Anderson Takes Home Alphabet Soup Victory


Nebraska’s John Anderson took home the $5,000 pay day at this year’s Alphabet Soup event at I-80 Speedway, and in the process, locked himself into a guaranteed starting position for this July’s $25,000-to-win Silver Dollar Nationals.


Anderson started on the pole for the event, but it was two-time and defending Corn Belt Clash Champion Chad Simpson who jumped out to the early lead. Simpson continued to lead the first half of the event with Anderson and Kyle Berck in tow until just past the halfway point when Simpson made contact with Brian Kenkel, whom Simpson was trying to put a lap down, giving Anderson the lead. Seventh-row starter Denny Eckrich and eight-row starter ‘Hammer Down’ Jason Rauen we strategically making their way forward, working themselves well into the top-10 as Anderson continued to extend his lead.


Anderson crossed the checkered flags ahead of Kyle Berck and Chad Simpson, who was able to wheel his damaged #25 GATR-sponsored MasterSbilt to a third place finish and reclaim the Corn Belt Clash Series point lead. Denny Eckrich was fourth with Jason Rauen rounding out the top-five and collecting the Hooker Harness Hard Charger Award in the process after advancing 10 places. The remainder of the top-10 was Travis Dickies, Chris Simpson, Tim Isenberg, Justin Zeitner and Bill Leighton. The Corn Belt Clash Series returns to action next weekend with a Friday night show at Mississippi Thunder Speedway. The series also returns to Peoria Speedway on Sunday to finish the Bohlander Tribute that was halted by rain just after the completion of the heat races. Sunday’s Bohlander Tribute will consist of the Kindl LLC Business Solutions Quick Six, which pays $500-to-win, along with B-Features and the A-Main.


Isky Racing Cams Heat Race #1 Winner: Justin Zeitner

Comp Cams Heat Race #2 Winner: Kyle Berck

JE Pistons Heat Race #3 Winner: John Anderson

Hoosier Racing Tire B-Main #1 Winner: Brian Kenkel

CBC Provisional Starter: Justin Kay


Feature Finish:

1.      John Anderson

2.      Kyle Berck

3.      Chad Simpson

4.      Denny Eckrich

5.      Jason Rauen

6.      Travis Dickies

7.      Chris Simpson

8.      Tim Isenberg

9.      Justin Zeitner

10.  Bill Leighton

11.  Dave Eckrich

12.  Rob Moss

13.  Mark Dotson

14.  Bill Koons

15.  Kevin Sather

16.  Alonzo Grosse

17.  Corey Zeitner

18.  Brian Kenkel

19.  Chris Spieker

20.  Justin Kay

21.  Mike Wiarda

22.  Andrew Kosiski

23.  Mike Collins

24.  Andrew McKay


Hooker Custom Harness Hard Charger Award:  Jason Rauen

AllStar Performance Performer of the Race Award: Jason Rauen

QuickCar Racing Products Award: Justin Kay

Landrum Performance Springs Award: Dave Eckrich

Comp Cams Award: Andrew McKay

Quarter Master Award: Chad Simpson


Corn Belt Clash Official Series Sponsors: JE Pistons, R.A.C.E, Comp Cams, Hoosier Racing Tire, Manley Performance, Isky Racing Cams and Cen-Pe-Co Lubricants


Corn Belt Clash Participating Sponsors: AllStar Performance, QuickCar Racing Products, Callies Performance Products, Wrap’d by Dynamic Decals and Two Buff Dudes Inc.


Corn Belt Clash Contingency Sponsors: CV Products, Intercomp Racing Scales, Tiger Rear Ends, Landrum Performance Springs, Hooker Custom Harness, Business Solutions, Pro Power Racing Engines, Grove Automotive, OutPace Racing Products, Signs by Design, The Contingency Connection, Countryside Creations, Dirt Late Model Magazine, JD Photography, Bully Dog and Karsyn’s Krusaders


Intercomp Racing Scales are the Official Scales of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Dirt Late Model Magazine is the Official Publication of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.


Karsyn’s Krusaders is the Official Non-Profit Organization of the Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series.